National Oratory Fellows

National Oratory Fellows at Ford's Theatre

The National Oratory Fellows program helps educators learn how to use oratory and performance as teaching strategies in history and ELA classrooms. Learn how to make history content come alive for your students as they discover the meaning and context behind some of history’s greatest speeches, and the people who spoke them.

As a National Oratory Fellow you will:

  • Participate in group professional development sessions with a select cohort of teachers across the country.
  • Work with a Ford’s Theatre Teaching Artist to design and implement an oratory integrated unit in your classroom. The Ford’s Teaching Artist “visits” the classroom via video-conferencing equipment or Skype.
  • Join us in Washington, DC in May for a professional development retreat and culminating event at Ford’s Theatre.

To apply:

Program is open to previous Civil War Washington Teacher Fellows only. Online application available July 6, 2015 to apply for the 2015-16 school year.


For more information please contact Cynthia Gertsen, 202-434-9529 or email.

Help your students unlock the power of their voices.
Become a Ford’s Theatre National Oratory Fellow.
Speech matters.

2014-2015 National Oratory Fellows



District of Columbia









Part of NCLE Center for Literacy Education 2014.

Photos of Center for Education by Maxwell MacKenzie. Photo of high school student performing at Ford's Theatre by Reflections.